STAO logo
Science Teachers' Association of Ontario
L'Association des professeurs des science de l'Ontario
About STAO

STAO Awards

Policies and Reports

About STAO - Past Presidents

  • Racquel Carlow 2012-2013 >>
  • Milan Sanader 2011-2012 >>
  • Donna Stack-Durward 2010-2011 >>
  • Gerrie Storr 2009-2010 >>
  • Leesa Blake 2008-2009 >>
  • Dennis Pare 2007-2008 >>
  • Stephanie Grant 2006-2007 >>
  • Chuck Cohen 2005-2006 >>
  • John Henry 2004-2005 >>
  • Maurice Di Giuseppe 2003-2004 >>
  • Mars Bloch 2002-2003 >>
  • Roxanne LeBlanc 2001-2002 >>
  • Greg Finn 2000-2001 >>
  • Ross Haley 1999-2000 >>
  • Megan O'Mahony 1998-1999 >>
  • Cathy Nevins 1997-1998 >>
  • Dan Eberwein 1996-1997 >>
  • Ian Mackellar 1995-1996 >>
  • Malisa Mezenberg 1994-1995 >>
  • Paul Weese 1992-1994 >>
  • List of Names: 1890-2012 >>

Paul Weese 1992-1994
My two years as President of STAO are remembered as a time of tremendous financial pressure, I thought many times that I did not want to be remembered as the last President of the Association. As a result of careful control of expenses and a successful STAO conference, we did survive and in fact, established many policies and procedures to ensure the financial viability of STAO for years to come.

Another thought that frequently crossed my mind was "'What would happen if there were no STAO?", On the surface, there would be no Crucible nor Annual Conference, the most tangible results of membership. But the largely unseen work of STAO has affected what and how science is delivered in the classroom. The liaison that STAO has developed with the Ministry of Education and Training, SCCAO and science suppliers has influenced curriculum and pedagogy - The work of the STAO Safety Committee has raised teachers' awareness of risk and hazards in the laboratory setting.

STAO continues to be the collective voice of science educators in this province. Through the commitment of its Executive, and Board and the support of science teacher through membership is has and will continue to promote excellence in science education through leadership and service.

STAO/APSO Box 771, Dresden ON, N0P 1MO Phone: 1-800-461-2264 Fax: 1-800-754-1654
Terms of Use